Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-07-11 - 11:18 p.m.

There is officially no pasta-and-sauce dish that absolutely demands that you have to use spaghetti. I have decided this and will never use spaghetti, spaghettini or any other kind of long pasta again.

Here's the thing. Long pasta. You can't put the whole lot into the saucepan so it cooks unevenly. You get one end that's nice and floppy and the other end can only be described as rare. If you want to cook the whole thing to a nice level of floppiness you have to allow extra cooking time, which is annoying, and whichever end you immerse in water first gets stuck together in a giant clump. Plus serving long pasta is unnecessarily awkward because the stuff slops out of the saucepan and goes everywhere except the plate or bowl you want it to go into.

Pasta shells. Tip them into the water, add a little extra water if there isn't quite enough, and stir it every so often so the shells don't stick together or to the saucepan. Drain them, tip them onto the plate. Job done. No hassle.

Anyway, happier things.

Remember I mentioned how I'd found a new member of staff for the office? Her name's Lucy and she came in for a trial this evening. She picked the system up really fast too, which was great. She just needs to get used to our coding system and she'll be flying.

Rick and Ruth were teasing me about her because of how I met her.

Rick: "So is she your mate?"
Me: Well, I kinda met her for the first time yesterday..."
Rick: "Wow, you pulled already?!"

As cute as Lucy is, I've met her boyfriend too and she very obviously adores him, so I suspect she's probably straight. Which is OK by me, I have Neko after all and I'm content to just look :)

In other news, the fraudsters are coming out to play and they're coming out in force. We've had a rash of them recently at work, and they all have Irish accents and are all calling from the same part of town.

Round the back of the office there's a clump of council blocks, and they're all coming from around there. We suspect there's some kind of syndicate thing going on.

There's one particular story that begs more detail, but rather than post it here I'm going to put it in *Stupid Customers* as I've taken up enough space here for now. Then I'm going to crawl into bed and sleep for ages.

The old fatigue is coming back...

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland