Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-10-05 - 11:58 p.m.

Ooh, so tired am I.

When my mum and I got home from the cinema last night I switched on my e-mail and found I'd sold one of the books I'd put up for sale on Amazon, at what I think is a profit over what I paid for the thing in the first place.

Yay!

So, this morning I got up early to go to the post office and get it posted to the buyer before it closed, which I did, thankfully.

My mum and I then went to Ealing Common for breakfast, and after that we decided to go to Portobello Road and look around the market stalls. We walked up the road, looking at the knick-knack stalls on the way, then we went into the kimono shop, and then we got back on the tube.

A brief journey on the District line earlier in the day led us to discover that the Bodyworlds exhibition has been extended till the middle of December, and since my mum had been rather disappointed when we thought it closed at the end of September, we headed out to Aldgate to visit the exhibition. My third trip. Can you tell I like that exhibition? :p

We got audio guides this time too, which were useful. My mum was quite impressed with the exhibition, and she, like me, considers it to be more a scientific or medical exhibition than it is an art exhibition.

There was actually a queue this time too, as opposed to the last two occasions where it was simply a case of walking to the booths and handing over my cash. On the way down the queue we were looking at the various newspaper clippings about the exhibition that are displayed on the walls, and one thing sprung to my mind.

Back in the middle ages, it was considered to be the very epitome of immorality to dissect a dead body, even if it was for the purposes of finding out how the person died. Forensic pathology wasn't developed fully for a long time because of this moral reasoning.

And now we're in the 21st century, no-one has a problem with the idea of someone performing autopsies, but preserving real corpses (used with consent) and displaying them for educational purposes? That's just sick, that is. Funny, huh? ^_^

Anyway. Once we left there we decided to go to the theatre. We'd actually decided to go and see one called The Woman Who Cooked Her Husband, which sounded like a real laugh, but the discount ticket place we went to didn't have tickets for that so we went with The Lieutenant of Inishmore. I'll try to convince Neko to come to The Woman In Black with me sometime in the near future :)

Anyway, Lieutenant was very funny, and among the other, more deliberate themes in the plot, one very true one did come forth.

A woman who owns a cat will always choose her cat over her man.

This play was kinda different in that you had the option to buy copies of the script from the theatre, which I was going to do except for the fact that I lacked enough cash. Grrr.

I was watching it and kinda seeing, in my head, how it could be adapted for the screen, and how everything would look. I need to script to work things out properly, though. I think I can probably go back some time and just buy a copy of the script from the theatre. And I can always go see it again if need be.

Oh, and last night mum and I went to see Road To Perdition, which was also excellent. It's got some fantastic acting, a great story and some truly wonderful directing. There's one scene in it that I think is probably some of the best direction I've ever seen. It looks fantastic and it captures the emotion behind the scene beautifully.

Mum goes home tomorrow afternoon, unfortunately, but it's been nice to see her again for a little while anyway. She's gone to bed because she was absolutely exhausted after all the walking around we did today, and I'm going to go to bed soon too. I'm going to do some laundry tomorrow and that meas I need to be up fairly early to get started. I have lots of laundry. Plus I'm knackered too.

Oyasuminasai...

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland