Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-10-07 - 12:47 a.m.

Well, my mum's gone home now. It was really nice to get to see her again, and according to my dad she had a really good time.

His own words: "she really enjoyed that gruesome body show!"

My mum usually gives me a cheque when she comes to visit, but since I saw her off at the Thameslink today and she was in a rush to get her train, she just handed me a �20 note and told me to use it to get something nice for myself.

So I'm going to get a university sports card.

Sports? No, not my thing at all. Not usually, at any rate. But lately I've been thinking I ought to take up some kind of cardiovascular hobby and my uni offers classes in both Wing Chun and Capoeira (I know I have DDR and suchlike, but I have to pay to go all the way out to Leicester Square or Waterloo for that and then pay for each game, which works out being very expensive). All you need to be able to sign up to these is a sports card, and that's �20 for a year.

So I'll go and get that sorted tomorrow, amongst other things. I may go in in the morning and just hang around in the LRC for the rest of the day until I have to go to work. I can go to the silent study area and do some drawing, maybe. Or do some reading for my popular cultures journal thingy. Maybe both, in fact, if I'm going to be there all day.

I'll see what time I can haul my ass out of bed tomorrow, I guess.

I watched Requiem for a Dream again this evening. I've established that a good way to recapture the original emotional impact of a film is to not watch it for about six months. I nearly cried this time.

And the second viewing enhanced the story rather significantly. I was noticing things that I didn't pay much mind to the first time around.

I've managed to convince John to watch it, at least in the sense that he's asked when he can see it. He asked me if it was arty and I said no, but that it wasn't particularly mainstream either, and he said he liked that kind of film.

I'll maybe rope him into taking part in my dissertation project, if I can get away with it.

I'm getting tired now. I shouldn't be, since I slept for a few hours after I got back from dropping my mum off, but I am. Bah.

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland