Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-07-29 - 11:42 a.m.

Sheffield has a very funny vibe about it. This was pretty much the first thing Becca said about it when we got off the train, although in her case it was more of a Sheffield-is-not-London kinda thing. In my case it has always gone thus:

If I go there and expect or hope for something to happen, then it won't.

If I go there and never even consider the possibility of something happening, then it will.

I would go into more detail but I haven't decided whether or not it's a good idea at the minute. Some things happened that made me think it wouldn't be a bad idea to mention it but on the other hand I've been wrong about these things before.

Ah, if you know anything about me you can probably work it out anyway.

I actually spent much of the evening being chatted up by Harlequin, aka Nii-chan's housemate who asked me if I was sent from heaven. I told him I was a lesbian and he said I was being unfair on the male population. Which is a nice compliment, I suppose :)

He said something else to me at some stage and I said it was the second nicest thing he'd ever said to me (can't remember what it was now though). He asked what the nicest thing was and I said it was the time he said he could listen to me talk all day without even knowing what I was saying.

He seemed really keen on Becca's accent all night too, so I think he's just a bit of an accent whore.

Anyway, after he'd told me he reeeeally liked my voice I sang to him in Irish. I got through two lines and he fell over. Then he got up and told me I was being unfair again.

Come to think of it, that was about all he said to me all evening - "you're being unfair". That, and telling me he respected the fact that I had a boyfriend and saying that Neko's a lucky man.

At any rate, Dissolution was fun. I really ought to go out more, I suppose, but I can't really afford it.

Now, the journey back. Becca and I were in Coach D, which is the designated "quiet carriage". Unfortunately, it's only a "quiet carriage" in that you're not supposed to use mobile phones in it, and even then no-one paid the blindest bit of attention to the many, many signs on the windows saying "NO MOBILE PHONES".

So, along with all the annoying customised ringtones going off and the very hot carriage, we also had to suffer three or four families with small children who were being noisy for the whole bloody thing. All I wanted to do on the way home was sleep but there was some baby sitting two seats in front of me that mewled and puked its way through the whole damn journey.

It woke me up and I said in a half-asleep daze, "shut that fucking baby up". I think the guy sitting next to me was a bit taken aback.

Seriously though, these days train operators have smoke-free carriages and mobile-free carriages, so why can't we have child-free carriages? Only for sober adults and no children under the age of, ooh, 15? And you can get kicked out if you're being too noisy. Doesn't sound like a bad idea to me.

I think I shall write to a few major train operators with this idea and see where it gets me.

Now I must get dressed in something that won't turn me into a small puddle over the course of the day. They're predicting 30 to 31 degrees (86 to 88 farenheit for those who don't use celsius) in London for today and I'm spending a substantial part of that in a classroom. Then another substantial part in the stuffy office at work.

Still, I'm going to propose my new office policy idea to the manager. That is, unless you are in the office with your phone on the hook and ready for work, you don't get clocked in. That ought to stop Ruth from pissing about so much. On Friday she showed up 10 minutes late, asked me to clock her in and then stood around with her phone off the hook for 15 minutes while she ate an ice cream. Lazy cow. No, the world does not owe you just because you produced a child. You're not the first and you sure as hell won't be the last.

Ahem. Pardon my rantings. I go get dressed and eat stuff now.

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland