Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-01-28 - 12:45 a.m.

I have to go into uni in the morning to help the other group with their TV Studio assessment. Since it's the other group, I don't have to do much. I'm VT operator, so all I have to do is press "record" and "play" on a VCR.

To be honest, I'm not expecting their production to look that wonderful. Not as good as ours at any rate.

Sounds like me blowing my own trumpet but even on paper it doesn't come up to ours. We did a kid's TV programme, a simple format that doesn't get dated. They're doing a news programme that gets invaded by Afghan terrorists.

Not only is it far less topical than it was at the beginning of the semester when we were coming up with ideas, it's also rather tasteless.

The guy who came up with the idea was originally in Unit B - my group. When we decided against the idea, he defected to Unit A. He'd told one of his friends in that group about the idea and his friend liked it.

The idea began as a kind of Brass Eye type thing - a mock current affairs programme. The way the guy pitched it to us was "everyone's got Anthrax". The idea has obviously changed somewhat since then because it starts out being like a normal news broadcast before people run in dressed as terrorists and "hijack" the programme.

We were warned not to try comedy at the start of the semester - it's too easy to screw up, and this is what they've done here. I helped out with the camerawork one week when half the group didn't show up. Their script relies heavily on perfect timing and unless they've rehearsed like mad, they're not going to have it on the day.

The phrase "lead balloon" springs to mind. Thank goodness I don't have to rely on how well the other group does in order to get a passing grade.

Always best to keep it simple. And trying to be controversial is not always a clever move.

Thus speaketh me. Yes :)

I'm going to go have a shower and eat ice cream now. At the same time!! =grin=

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland