Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-02-06 - 8:16 p.m.

Ah, back from Reading.

Neko was staying with me until last night, when he decided he ought to go home. I suggested that he wait until after my Japanese lecture and then we could both go back to Reading.

My lecture last night involved learning how to say where things are in relation to other things. That only lasted an hour though, because one of the students in the Level 2 class was going to do a cookery demonstration.

So we all headed down to the kitchens and we learned how to make miso soup, yakitori, and sushi rolls. I'm not that fussed on miso soup so I decided to make myself some yakitori and have a go with the sushi rolls.

We were supposed to use spring onions with the yakitori but since I'm not too fond of spring onions, I used double the chicken and as little onion as possible. Tried putting it on the grill but found that it was a very quick way to burn my fingers so I eventually removed it and stuck it in a frying pan instead. It tasted just fine.

Then came the sushi rolls. The chef demonstrated how to roll sushi and gave us the option of using raw tuna, raw salmon or cucumber strips. Since I don't like fish, cooked or raw, I decided to make the cucumber rolls.

The chef let us start and told us we could sample some of the things he'd made, so I grabbed a cucumber roll and stuck it in my mouth. This wasn't so bad until I actually started to chew on the thing, when I was swiftly reminded of one of the other ingredients in sushi rolls.

Wasabi.

I've never actually had wasabi before but I never want to have it again. It brought tears to my eyes, it did. The sheer heat invaded my mouth and I really, really wished I'd brought a drink with me as I sometimes do.

Anyway. When I made my sushi rolls, I left out the wasabi. They turned out rather nice, actually, if I can make sticky rice when I go home next I'll make some of the cucumber rolls for whoever will have them.

Now, if only I could find somewhere that would do cooked chicken in rolled sushi I'd be a happy woman. First time I went to X's house he and his dad had been playing with a sushi-making set and had put chicken into some of the rolls. It was yummy...

=nostalgia=

Anyway. Neko and I spent this afternoon wandering around Reading. I now have assorted bits and pieces I can use for my Minami cosplay, so it's more of a case of putting everything together than anything else.

Here's hoping it all works...!

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland