Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-09-04 - 1:35 a.m.

This is now the house of funny smells.

First it was the sofa in the living room. Every so often there's this strange waft of what smells like decomposing rubbish and it appears to be strongest around the cushion nearest the corner. We have yet to work out what the hell this is. I thought something might have been dropped down the side and somehow managed to get slid underneath the sofa but I moved it this evening and found nothing. The mystery remains unsolved.

Next was as a result of my laundry antics. Actually, no. Next was the waste disposal unit.

The boys took great delight in telling me that the waste disposal unit has been backed up ever since they decided to drop a Barbie doll down there just to see what would happen. Unfortunately, the landlady hasn't done much to get it fixed and now it's reaching a point where if any amount of running water goes into the waste disposal, you get treated to the lovely aroma of decomposition.

THEN there was the laundry. I bought myself some Lenor today (with Febreze technology, oh yes) and after the washing was all done and hung out on the line, I came back into the kitchen and was hit by the smell of the stuff. Which would have been fine if it didn't smell a whole lot like the kind of hairgel that a certain person from my past used to wear all the time. That was kinda weird.

The most recent is the Horlick's. I bought myself some of this stuff today, having never had it and also being tempted by the thing on the label that said it helps you to sleep. I've had a cup of it already just to confirm to myself that I will actually like it, and it's OK. I think it's one of those things you have to constantly stir though, like hot chocolate.

In its drink form it tastes much the same as warm milk. In its lone, powder form though, it smells a lot like some breakfast cereal or another. Can't quite place which one it is. And whatever it is, the smell has managed to work its way around the kitchen.

How it's managed to do this when I made ONE cup of it and kept it in one place, with the lid very firmly on, is beyond me. Anyway, the waste disposal has decided it's not being beaten by an insomnia-beating powdered hot drink and is now fighting back with the Power of Putrefaction�. When the boys get back, I'm going to have to ask that we club together and call out a repairman or something.

Anyway. As it stands I now have just about every item of dirty laundry that I had to do sorted out. Took me the best part of two days, mind. Ugh. I only finished the ironing about 45 minutes ago and it took me the whole of Frasier and the whole of Oz to get it all done. I'm going to go to bed soon and spend tomorrow unpacking as much stuff as possible. I've been threatening to have a housewarming on Thursday but this can't come to pass if I haven't at least removed a few of the bags in the hallway and worked out where the hell I'm going to put my TV.

And despite the amount of stuff I've had on today there's still the nagging feeling that there's something really big and important I should have done but didn't. I often get this feeling when I'm not doing much but I was doing a hell of a lot today so it was most unsettling. Maybe my subconscious was being stupid and saying "you should be unpacking!!" when I couldn't actually do much unpacking until my laundry was sorted out.

So I guess tomorrow is the day when I attempt to unpack stuff and maybe go out in the evening. And should I fail horribly, then we can all just meet up in Namco as per usual.

Anyway, out of things to say for now so I'm going to crawl into bed. Hooray for early starts ^_^;

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland