Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-10-13 - 10:54 p.m.

My Little Eye.

Avoid this film like the plague, I tells ya.

This was aiming for a Big Brother kind of feel with a horror twist. Except it didn't pull either aspect off at all. The filming was all done using webcams. For the authentic look, presumably, but it still felt like it wasn't spontaneous. You watch Big Brother, the camerawork is spontaneous. This felt planned, scripted and storyboarded. And the horror was not especially horrifying. The beginning builds to absolutely nothing and what you're left with is a ridiculously predictable conspiracy theory.

And the soundtrack! Christ, talk about grating! The cameras are so noisy when they zoom in or out that you can sometimes barely hear the speech, for some unknown reason there are modem dialup noises in the background for the whole thing, and whoever did their sound mixing needs to be shot. Things were sometimes either too quiet or muffled, and if they weren't, they were excruciatingly loud to the point of distortion. BAD, people!

The only good thing about it was the fact that they had The Evil Dead on Playstation. They played the theme tune and I was momentarily distracted from the crappiness and thought "hmm, that's a nice piece of music. Where have I heard that before...?"

There are many, many productive things you can do in 95 minutes. Do ANYTHING with those 95 minutes other than watching this film. Trust me, I know what I'm talking about.

=adds My Little Eye to the list of films she has hated=

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland