Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-11-14 - 2:53 p.m.

I've been writing things up for my Cybercultures project since I got up, and am now permitting myself a break to eat and muse about something.

Isn't it funny how people can be completely oblivious to something, even when it's held out to them on a plate and then smacked into their faces?

A while ago, someone on UKA asked me if I could send him some kanji that could be used to represent both his and his girlfriend's names. He wanted to paint them on his bedroom wall. Ain't that sweet.

So, I draw some different ways of writing said names, and he picked some he liked. I said I'd draw them again, larger and more neatly, but there may be a delay as I was bogged down with other work.

Time passes, I'm too busy to actually get it done, and all the while he's harassing me about getting it done. So, to keep him happy, last Saturday evening I made time to get them all drawn out, inked, measured to the same dimensions... everything. I was late for work because I was so keen to get these things sorted out for him as soon as possible. When I got home, I scanned them, cropped them, uploaded them and sent him the link in a private message.

And I have been waiting, ever since then, to hear back from him. If not to let me know whether the kanji look OK, at least to say "thanks". But I haven't even had that.

So, last night I put up a thread in the "Rants" part of the forum saying "wouldn't it be nice if, when you take time out of your busy schedule to do someone a favour, they take the time afterwards to say 'thanks'?". And I waited for the offending party to see this and respond in the thread. And he did... but he utterly ignored my post, instead commenting on someone else's reply.

I am greatly unimpressed. Time to break out the sledgehammer, I feel...

Oh, and for the record, if anyone wants a favour from me in future, they can pay me for it. IN ADVANCE.

Thank you.

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland