Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-03-14 - 12:14 a.m.

I made gyuudon for the first time in a while. I was a little short on sake but it came out OK in the end. I did try to buy some more in town but they didn't have any. Apparently you can just use dry white wine as a substitute, but it doesn't have the same sharpness that sake does. Besides, I like to be authentic.

You can use honey or syrup as a substitute for mirin but I will only do that if I really have no mirin and can't get any.

Anyway, I'm slowly establishing which types of beef steak work in gyuudon since you can't seem to get the bacon-thin beef the Japanese use. Frying steak works, braising steak works, and thin-cut sirloin works. Of course, that's probably because they're all basically the same things =grin=

I'm going to do the dishes shortly and then if it's not too late I'm going to try and make cucumber sushi rolls so I can bring them with me tomorrow.

Tomorrow we're visiting the hare krishna temple in Soho to do a recce for our documentary. I know virtually nothing about the hare krishnas so I'm not sure what to expect. I told my mum about this and the first thing she said was "they'll try and convert you". Which wouldn't surprise me, given how they've always tried it before when I've met them in Camden.

Neko asked if he could go along too but I don't think that's a good idea. He likes to tease hare krishnas. We don't want to make ourselves unwelcome, now ^_^

Right, I suppose I'd better make a start on the dishes then...

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland