Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-11-12 - 12:36 p.m.

Just to check. When you visit the dentist, your gums aren't meant to bleed afterwards, are they?

No, didn't think so.

I haven't had a dental check-up in several years so I figured it was about time I got one done. And there's a surgery just across the road from the house, so I had no excuse, really.

So, anyway. Standard stuff. I tell her about my wisdom teeth, which have been playing up (two that haven't come up completely, one which seems to be coming up normally but slowly, and another which doesn't even seem to exist), she checks everything, says it's all OK but that my teeth could use a clean.

"Do you want me to clean them for you now?" she asks.

"Umm... yeah, OK," I reply.

She gets the drill thing and commences cleaning. And good lord it hurts. She basically cleaned in between the backs of my teeth (which are hard for me to reach with a toothbrush) and down around the gumline. Unfortunately, I do kinda have nerve endings and blood vessels in my gums and so when she'd stopped drilling, my teeth felt really weird, my gums were sore and, after a quick check, they were indeed bleeding.

The thought has popped into my head that this drill-clean technique was, in fact, some kind of punishment technique. In a you-will-brush-your-teeth-every-day-or-else kind of way. I think I'm going to be a bit more vigilant in my teeth-cleaning from now on. If vigilant is the right word.

In other news, I have some research done for my cybercultures project and I've managed to find a free screenwriting program.

You know how much those things cost?? The cheapest one I'd found was $120, and considering how all they really do is a bit of formatting that's an awful lot to pay.

Anyway. I shall be working on both of those assignments like a mad thing for the rest of this week, as well as restarting my efforts for NaNoWriMo.

Yes, unfortunately my original idea is proving to be most unproductive and my creative juices aren't exactly flowing. This, to me, seems entirely wrong for the nature of NaNoWriMo, so I'm abandoning what I have so far and starting again. And I will, quite literally, write the first thing that comes into my head. The other idea, good as it is, can be revisited another time, when I actually have the free time to work on it.

I can write 50,000 words in 19 days. Sure I can ^_^

Anyway, I must get back to work on these assignments. It'd be nice to get a bit of work done before my lecture this afternoon...

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland