Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-06-27 - 10:48 p.m.

Well, at this moment in time I have the house to myself. My sister's gone to a disco with her friends, my parents have gone to a restaurant with their French class, and my brother is still on his army thingamy.

Sleeping rough in the broad British wilderness for the last week or whatever has not deterred my brother from phoning home at least twice a day. This makes me wonder what he's like when he's at uni. Maybe he doesn't feel the need to call home repeatedly, day after day, because he can just jump in his car and drive back here whenever he wants the assistance of the laundry fairy or the family chef/psychologist (all of the above are my mum, BTW).

Asperger's or no, surely my parents can see the problem with this constant phoning home at all hours of the day. If I did that my mum would be convinced I was having some kind of breakdown.

It's actually been nice not having my brother around because he's such an attention whore. My mum asked me if I felt in competition with my brother and the only answer I could give was "yes". I constantly feel like nothing I do is ever good enough compared to everything he does. My A-Level results were marginally better than his but he still got into the better university. He may be changing his course but he's changing to do something he can easily get 90%-odd in, whereas I have to struggle just to get a decent 2-1 in any of my modules.

It isn't a purely academic thing and I think that's what my mum thinks it is. There's far more to it. He's better at managing his money, he fits into things better, and he's got his OTC thing going on. He phoned home, all excited a couple of nights ago because he'd gotten promoted to junior under-officer or something, and my parents have been going nuts over it too.

Guess I must have missed the fuss over my promotion. Or maybe customer service isn't as noble a field to get promoted in. You don't get trained in the art of killing people, after all.

Ah, I know I'm whinging. I get the joy of sitting in the car with my brother tomorrow night before I fly back to London. So I get to spend the last half hour or so of my time with my mum being forced to listen to my brother yelling about all the things he did with the OTC (despite the daily updates on everything he's done for the last week).

Getting a word in edgeways? Don't be silly. You haven't met my brother.

I think I'm going to go fill myself with caffeine and see where it gets me. Yeah.

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland