Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-09-16 - 11:01 p.m.

Well, I'm back.

Where the hell was I? Belgium, that's where!

Ah, that wonderful land of chocolate for low, low prices. It was great. My parents and I were staying in a hotel that had a Haagen-Dazs cafe right next door and a chocolaterie just round the corner. We had fantastic weather too.

The only thing that kinda spoiled things was me developing a chest infection. Trying to get medical help in a foreign country when your knowledge of the language stops at GCSE level and is VERY rusty is very, very difficult. We spent a total of four hours in the clinic before I got given a prescription, and this was after they'd taken chest x-rays, two blood samples and asked if I had any pain while going to the toilet.

All rather odd when all I have to do here is go to a doctor, explain that I have a history of these things and name the medication I need.

Having the blood samples taken was fun though, I can tell ya. Now, I've had lots of blood samples taken before and they're usually taken from one of the veins on the inside of my elbows. So, the nurse put the tourniquet on and began to look for a vein in my left arm. Despite the fact that you can see a vein rather clearly on that arm, he didn't seem satisfied with that. So he worked his way down my arm and eventually decided to take the blood sample from the vein on the back of my hand.

This went horribly wrong. He stuck the needle in and tried to put the test tube into the valve to obtain the sample. There was a loud hiss and suddenly he said "too small". At this point I looked at my hand and there was blood everywhere. Out of all the blood samples I've ever had to give, that's the only one that has EVER bled.

After this, with me giggling deliriously and demanding that my mum buy me lots of ice cream as compensation, he decided to try my other arm instead, and this time he went for my wrist. That one worked, thankfully, but he put a dressing over the puncture that made me look like I'd tried to commit suicide. Fun.

Anyway. I'll post more about what we did another time, like when I transfer the photos from my digital camera and decide which ones to stick up here. There are a couple of definites but I need to crop the others. For now, I'm starving so I'm going to go wash the dishes from this afternoon and make myself something. Instant noodles, probably. Ah, the return to the student lifestyle.

Ooh, here's something funny: I got notification of my loan installments today. I get my first installment in cheque form, and that'll be available from Thursday. But I can't pick it up until I get my student status letter. Which I don't get until I register on the 27th.

How ironic ^_^

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland