Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-11-19 - 10:19 a.m.

Well, my coursework is all done and dusted for now, which is going to facilitate me writing like a woman possessed and, hopefully, producing another 47,000 words of stuff that will make people cry and need cigarettes.

Having defeated Godzilla in chapter 1, my main character is now doing battle against a bishie who makes cows fall out of the sky. All different breeds, too. That's where *this site* has proven to be very useful.

Half the fun of writing a parody of the Magical Girl phenomenon is thinking of comedy villains (admittedly Mr. Moo Cow Sky Death is one of Neko's creations, but he's my muse in this thing so it's OK). I've got a few ideas for stupid enemies, and my planned final boss is going to be a big hit with the other participants. They'll understand the motivation behind that particular enemy, but then I can't say anything more as it'd give too much away. I'm a secretive thing sometimes.

Neko and I finally went to see 28 Days Later yesterday. I'd read somewhat mixed reviews of it, and now I've seen it, I can understand where the mixed reviews came from. The people who wrote good reviews only saw the first half. The ones who wrote the bad reviews only saw the second half.

Honestly. It starts out being pretty good. Like a rather more tense, creepy version of Day of the Triffids, I guess. The team of main characters take off from London to Manchester to find an army base that's been set up and sending out radio messages proclaiming that they have found the answer to the infection that's turned the entire population of Britain into these weird zombie creatures. Up to that point, I was enjoying it. Then the army boys showed up, we moved location to the army base, and it went rather swiftly downhill. It was just ridiculous on many levels.

And it did that thing that The Thin Red Line did; it just kept on going and going. I don't like watching a film and thinking "ah, it's nearly over... no, wait, there's a bit more. Ah, here's the ending now... no, there's more...". It's bloody annoying. When they finally did get to the ending, it was incredibly weak. Especially when the film started out being so strong.

It has a great soundtrack though.

And we did get to see some good trailers. I can now add a film called The Tuxedo to my list of Films I Will See When They Come Out, and I got to see the trailer for Deathwatch again, which looks suitably creepy. And it's got Sean Pertwee in it. Ever since Dog Soldiers I have had a certain appreciation for Sean Pertwee.

Neko and I still want to see Donnie Darko, so we'll endeavour to do that sometime this week, hopefully. And if we can find a place that's still showing The Eye, we'll see that too.

For now, I must be off. Apparently the dissertation lectures have been extended, so I have to go find out which room they're being held in now otherwise I'm a bit screwed on the dissertation front.

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland