Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-03-18 - 10:44 a.m.

According to my buddy list, I updated 8 hours ago.

I do, however, know this to be a lie.

I am... confused.

I'm going to have to tinker with the HTML on the diary at some point as using Onyx for large chunks of text just doesn't work.

I do have a legitimate reason for using Onyx. See, when I did the redesign I knew I wanted a hide theme. So I went through lots and lots of pictures, desperately trying to choose my favourite.

No easy task when someone's as pretty as hide, right *Aya*?

There was a Battle Royale-esque picture but unfortunately it was in greyscale, which doesn't exactly make for the most interesting of potential colour schemes. I also went through all the Mugongeki (photo book hide did a long time ago) pictures but the ones I liked best didn't have wonderful colour schemes either. So eventually I scanned the cowboy pic from my Ja, Zoo music book and thought "right, I'll make it a Ja, Zoo theme." I then fiddled with the colour palette in my editor till I got pink close-ish to the one used on the album, then proceeded to hunt down a font similar to the one used on the album. And that font was Onyx.

Unfortunately, while Onyx looks rather nice in large type, it doesn't work so well in actual diary entries. I was putting up with it and substituting bold tags for italics, but now I'm in the uni library and have established just how rubbish the text looks if it's not in Onyx.

Why didn't someone tell me? >_<

Anyway. I'll be fixing that this evening, hopefully. I'll probably make it viewable in Arial or Verdana as those are nice fonts. I'd leave it in Times New Roman but apparently some people don't like that font, for whatever reason. Can't say I understand that, it's a font everyone can read, after all.

But then I think they're the kind of people who'll look at your source code in order to find a way to say your website is crap. This really is quite silly, I think.

See, apparently I'm using very antiquated HTML, which is a bad, bad thing. But I don't care, because at the end of the day the diary looks the way I want it to.

I've ripped apart a few diaries myself in the course of writing *Naked Flames*, but I've never actually gone so far as to complain about the fecking source code. That's just bloody silly, not to mention sad. Read for content, people!

Ahem. But I'm getting off-topic.

Anyway. This evening I'll have made the header a graphic (hopefully, if that doesn't work I'll have to find a different font for it >_< ), and the body of the text will be a more user-friendly font. How lovely am I? =grin=

Right. I ought to be doing some work.

This entry was brought to you by a supposedly vital lecture being cancelled, and severe procrastination. Umm... kocchi o miro!

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland