Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-02-22 - 2:39 a.m.

How odd.

I just created a new diaryring but for some reason Diaryland isn't acknowledging the code.

I'd better not have to make an entirely new diaryrings page. Grrr �_�

I've finished both gloves and my ears for Minami. I brought them to work this evening to show Ruth, since she's developed a strange interest in my cosplaying antics. When I had the ears out, Anong came into the office and I couldn't resist showing them to her.

She proceeded to put them on the wrong way and yell "hello!!" repeatedly in her strong Thai accent. It was hilarious.

Of course, being Thursday I was packing this evening. It seems Zhenhaj's English has improved a bit, but he tells me I speak too fast for him so I have to watch that if I need to tell him something in future. Plus he seems to understand gestures better than spoken English, even when the English has been simplified.

Example: something they've started doing in the kitchen recently is having the chefs prepare the naans, rather than the packers. This is nice because preparing naans is a bloody annoying thing to have to do because I don't know the difference between plain and peshwari naans just from looking. Plus, when it's busy it's very easy to forget about the naan oven and then you end up with burnt naans.

Anyway, I didn't know about this until this evening, and apparently neither did Zhenhaj because he kept trying to put naans in the naan oven. So I had to take the naan off him, put it back in the freezer, then point at the chefs and say "they're cooking it, not you!". Even then it took a while to get through.

This came up later on when we needed to restock the kitchen's supply of Carlsberg. See, we're running a special offer where you can get 8 bottles of the stuff for free, and this offer has obviously proved very successful. So, we've got several cases of Carlsberg locked in the drinks cupboard and just bring out a few cases as and when we need them.

Now, I'd already restocked the Carlsberg that evening so I was holding on to the key to the cupboard. When we ran out again, Zhenhaj went to get some more. Of course, he needed the key to do this. And of course, he didn't know I had it. So I heard him asking Nick where the key was, and since Nick didn't know I had it either, he told Zhenhaj to ask the manager. Hearing all this, I took the key out of my pocket and gave it to Zhenhaj.

He stared at me.

"It's the drinks key."

More staring.

"You need this key."

Still staring.

At this point I said "trust me, this is what you want", pushed it into his hand and waited a couple of minutes while he examined the label on the keyring, which said "DRINKS KEY" in big letters. He eventually got it and ran off. Nick and I exchanged bemused glances and all I could say at that point was "... and they want to set me up with him".

When I finished and went to get my stuff back from the office, I had Ruth asking "what we'd been talking about".

Simple answer to that is that we didn't talk much except about work. It was a busy night tonight. The closest we got to a deep conversation was when I drew the kanji for "cat", he told me what the Chinese word was and I told him what the Japanese word was.

Ruth isn't one to believe this, of course.

I think that telling her about Zhenhaj's attempt to walk me part of the way home the other night would be a bad idea. Yes.

Anyway. Other news. I've finally succeeded in coaxing my model into standing up. The only condition of this is that I have to treat the model with kid gloves now. If I touch it in a way it doesn't like, it'll make something come loose or break off. And that's bad.

I'm going to be bringing an emergency repair kit to Minami, that's for sure.

Right, I must away to bed, for I have uni tomorrow. No idea what time, mind...

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland