Site best viewed with Onyx font. Download it *here*.

Honestly, Beautifully : honey blade

latest // older // mail // notes // links // cast list // my rings // rings i'm on

2002-09-25 - 1:46 a.m.

Ugh. My stomach has been turning all day.

Got up, felt queasy. Drank coffee, it got worse. Went to Waterloo, felt OK. Ate breakfast, still OK but kept getting waves of nausea every time I looked at my food and began to find it difficult to swallow. A few hours down the line and it turns into a constant feeling like I was going to be sick, coupled with shivers and a splitting headache.

Came home and got into bed for a few hours, which seemed to clear it up so I went to work. We were short-staffed tonight. How short? We had two chefs and a kitchen porter. We had one packer. We had three telephonists. We had six drivers.

Note the lack of a dispatcher and the fact that we never have a packer to cover the full evening shift, so tonight I was working for three. Oh yes. I'm definitely having a word with the manager about my pay. I know everything and I do everything but I still get paid less than the duty managers. This, to me, is wrong.

I basically got in, was handed the cordless phone and told to dispatch until the regularly scheduled guy showed up. Along with this, I ended up packing because Zhenhai seemed overwhelmed. He kept insisting he wasn't but no one can handle eight tickets at once by themselves.

When the regular dispatcher did show up I was sent back to the office but after about half an hour I was sent back to the front because they needed to send the dispatcher out on the road. The orders were ready to go, we just had no drivers to take them.

Along with this, the head chef was cursing that Lucy hadn't shown up which basically meant that the only other chef who was in was the new guy, who's still working his way around the place. I think they're planning to train me to make starters or something for times such as this. My prophecy is slowly coming true, all that remains is for me to get a car and then I'll be doing the deliveries too.

Shit, maybe they're deliberately trying to make it difficult for me to cut my days down, which I'm going to have to do once uni starts again. Well, if that's their scheme they can pay me an extra �1.20 per hour, dammit.

Hmmm... I can't think of much else to say. I'm very tired. The boys are getting up early tomorrow to go and register for uni. I've been talking John through the process of re-registering and assuring him that failing one of the modules on his minor is not going to keep him from registering in the second year. He's still ecstatic that I'm doing the same course as him, because if nothing else it'll save him money on textbooks and stuff. He's worried that he's failed textual analysis, which I remember hating with a passion. The second assignment gave us the choice of writing about Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit (strange film/novel about lesbianism which isn't that interesting), or Cloud Nine (strange play where the men are played by women and vice versa and where everyone is screwing everyone else regardless of age, gender or marital status). Apparently John went for Oranges last time and hated it. I've told him that, if he needs to repeat it, I will give him my copy of Cloud Nine and talk him through it. He's happy, especially cos Cloud Nine is a skinny little book, as opposed to Oranges which consists of a novel and a three-hour film.

Yes, I'm very glad I didn't bother with that one ^_^

OK, time to make a hot water bottle and slink into bed. Here's hoping the nausea passes by tomorrow... but then there's a tube strike on so I'm confined to the house anyway. Yay!

.

previous - next

.

profile // guestbook // naked flames // stupid customers // diaryland